Martin Parr

 

” Take a lot of pictures in order to crawl through the crap to get something half decent”

Researching Martin Parr has been a delight, to be inspired by artists, photographers and enjoy their work is a gratifying feeling but to feel a connection to a photographers idea’s and styles so quickly isn’t something that happens too often. The relevance and playfulness of the photographs got me hooked onto his blog almost instantly, alongside with the warming commentary that wasn’t necessarily needed but extremely enjoyable it felt like that exact moment you can feel yourself connect with someone new. A documentary photographer, photojournalist and collector of many things including Thatcher ornaments and Barack Obama soap, trainers, cookies and nearly anything strange that you could pop his face on to, even a flip flop! Parr is what I always imagined I’d become, he travels, puts himself in the places he needs to be to get what he wants. In a couple of video’s I’ve witnessed him stress how important it is to go and get yourself in the right place, so many photo opportunities get missed and it is up to you to find them. Reading and watching videos really helped me in actually seeing how he works, in another video he was talking about actually taking photographs and how in the United Kingdom and many other countries it is your right to photograph in public as well as how important the right moment can be, one person looking straight into the photograph can ruin the whole thing.

martinparr-lelouvre-2012-print

As I’m trying to find one photo that really speaks to me from each photographer I’ve chosen “La Louvre” 2012 for Martin Parr which I found in an article “Martin Parr on Pairs, pants and photobooks” an extremely empty article that gave me nothing new except this photograph. This photograph conjured up a fear in my gut that always shows itself when I have a smartphone in my hand when I’m walking that crucial line between capturing the moment and missing out on moments. He gets this and I think what was so powerful of this photo is why do we need the proof, why is todays society so set on having evidence that we as individuals have witnessed historic moments and is having that memory photographed like millions of others really worth not soaking up every second of being in the presence of the Mona Lisa, maybe it is.

Leave a Reply

